AUTHOR CHAT ~ Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

I was lucky enough to be able to interview the lovely and sweet authors of Branded, Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki!

Here’s how the interview went,

How did you guys first meet each other?

We met back in 1999 during college orientation.

What inspired you guys to start writing Branded?

We would meet every month and talk about books that we were reading. But, there was always something about the book that we always said we would have done differently. And we always agreed on what it was. So joking around we said the only way we would ever be 100% happy with a book, would be if we wrote it.

What are some tips you would give to others wanting to write their own book someday?

Write for yourself; write what you love and not what you think others would love. Take your time and let your imagination run wild. The first draft doesn’t have to sound or look pretty, just get the story out. When you go back again to start the next draft, then you can start to work on the details and things. But pressure will kill your imagination. So write for FUN!

What other hobbies do you guys have other than writing?

We read obviously when we can find the time. We are both mothers to young children so obviously that takes up a lot of our time. We both love weightlifting, hiking, and target shooting.

If you had to pick the actress and actor that got to play Lexi and Cole in a movie who would you cast?

This is a tough one. Because we would almost want to have an unknown or an up and coming actor and actress, because we think that would be neat to give them a chance like our agent and publisher did for us. But being in our 30’s, Josh Hartnett is always who we pictured as Cole. Lexi, could go so many ways.

How long did it take you roughly to write your book?

The first draft of Branded about 3 months.

Do you have a special place that you like to sit and write at?

Abi- I sit in my bedroom in my recliner.

Missy- I like to sit in my bed with the windows open for natural light.

Who are your role models?

For Abi- my father.

Missy- I’d say both of my moms and especially my Dad. My first/biological Mom was a strong, smart, person who was full of laughter. She passed away too young. My step-mom (although I don’t like to call her that) took us on, even though she was really young when she married my dad. I talk to her every day, she’s my best friend now. And my Dad, who has been through so much in his life, is my hero. He is my rock.

Here are some quick answer questions, where you can say the first thing that comes to mind:

Favorite Book?

Abi- The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Twilight, Eclipse, Outlander.

Missy- This one is tough. I read a lot of different genres outside of young adult so I’ll try to narrow it down. How Soccer Explains the World by Franklin Foer, The Game of Thrones series by George RR Martin, Shake Hands with the Devil by Roméo Dallaire, The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer, The Last Silk Dress by Ann Rinaldi, and Blood and Vengeance by Chuck Sudetic. 

Favorite Movie

Abi- The Hunger Games, Catching fire, Twilight, Titanic.

Missy- Transformers

Favorite Singer/Band?

Abi- Skillet and Ellie Goulding

Missy- Linkin Park, Third Eye Blind, right now I’m loving Coldplay’s newest album, and Skillet.

Dream place to visit?

Abi- St. John United States Virgin Islands (LOVE IT THERE)

Missy- I love Germany- the food and the people. I think the place I most want to visit now is Montana. I want to see big sky country and go for a run there. ☺

Favorite Food?

Abi- Italian food, coffee and eggs lol.

Missy- sushi. I could eat it every day.

Celeb Crush?

Abi- Sam Heughan at the moment.

Missy- I don’t celeb crush too much, but I do love Sam Heughan as well. I’ve always really liked Josh Hartnett & Eric Bana too. 

That concludes the interview! it was an honor to interview Abi and Missy, they are such lovely and inspiring people and I recommend you check out their book Branded now!!

Leave a Reply

