THE LONG AWAITED: NEVERNIGHT BOOK REVIEW!!

NEVERNIGHT BY JAY KRISTOFF BOOK REVIEW!

SYNOPSIS:

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

MY THOUGHTS:

This. Book. Im still in awe with everything about this book. So far is is my equal fave top book of 2016 and it hasn’t left my mind since I finished reading it.

The world building in this book was beyond fantastic, so much details were put into this and Jay’s writing style is just phenomenal. I went into this book without reading any of Jay’s previous writing (I can now say I’ve read Illuminae its okay I’m working my way through his works now) so I really wasn’t familiar with any of his writing or have any expectations and I’m so proud to say that I’m obsessed with his style of writing and Jay has easily become an auto buy author for me.

The character of Mia was everything a reader could wish for; she’s kickass, brutal and strong. She is a very loveable character and I think the fact that she didn’t really rely on any man to save her made her just so much more of a stronger and brave character as usually now days the books you read are about the females being saved by the males and its just really good to see something where the female can stand up for herself and be independent.

I love the way in which the story gives us insights into Mia’s past and weaves it in so well with the present time of the story (starts off as confusing but once you get into the swing of it you get to learn that its VERY cool and informative!)

Also this book was not centred on romance either which was a nice change as so many books (lets be real almost ALL books now days) have a strong romance theme in them, well Nevernight was very different as it didn’t have much romance and mainly focused on the magic and the world building and the introduction of the kickass and awesome characters.

Nevernight overall was a very very VERY awesome read!! It was filled with so much sarcasm, strong characters and had a very cool new world. I would recommend this to older readers as there are some brutal and bloody (and some not so childish words), I would also recommend to those that love Game of Thrones, Throne of Glass and those of you that enjoyed Jay’s other books!!

STAR RATING: 6/5 STARS

BUY NEVERNIGHT HERE: http://www.harpercollins.com.au/9780008179991/nevernight/

y648.png

3 thoughts on “THE LONG AWAITED: NEVERNIGHT BOOK REVIEW!!

  1. Great review! I’m still struggling with mine, I just wrote a whole bunch of word vomit and I need to cut it down 😂
    I love the writing and all the descriptions the world was just so intricate and fantastic to learn about!
    And Mia was my favourite I loved the lack of Romance and how mature she was! Can’t wait for the next book ☺️ I hope you enjoy his other series I’m in two minds of reading it coz I don’t know how much I’ll like the Asian setting but I’ll keep a look out for your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

