THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR BOOK REVIEW!!

THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR BY NICOLA YOON BOOK REVIEW:

SYNOPSIS:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

MY THOUGHTS:

This book was very raw and honest, I loved the romance and basically just everything about this book, after reading Nicola’s first novel ‘Everything Everything’ I was really anticipating reading more of her beautiful writing and I can tell you I was not disappointed.

The romance in this book may have not been the most realistic and ever so coincidental (HOWEVER IT WAS VERY CUTE AH), however I still found that I thoroughly enjoyed it and I think one of the main things that I found to make this book for me is the characters.

Natasha and Daniel were both very funny, their characters were not your typical pair and had their own unique stories. I especially found that I really loved Daniel and found him to be a very cute, dreamy guy. Natasha was a very big lover of science and was a firm non believer of love.

I really loved the fact that Nicola brought the topic of illegal immigration into the book and made it very evident in the story, as it is something that isn’t evident as much in YA books and it was really refreshing to learn more on the topic.

The only slight thing I had trouble with in this book is that like Nicola’s other novel ‘Everything Everything’ I did find the ending to be a little predictive (Still didn’t make a big difference to me!) and also the change of point of views got me a little lost very easily as I personally am not good at following more than two different points of view. But thats all just personally me and I am known for guessing a lot of books endings (LOL).

Overall, I loved the diversity in this book and loved learning new things from this book as I read more. I also loved the characters, especially Daniel. I would recommend this to everyone, but more in particular I think that people that adored ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell would love this too!

STAR RATING: 4.5 OUT OF 5 STARS

THANK YOU PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE AUSTRALIA FOR SENDING ME THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR REVIEW!

BUY HERE: https://penguin.com.au/books/the-sun-is-also-a-star-9780552574242

28763485.jpg

2 thoughts on “THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR BOOK REVIEW!!

Leave a Reply

