INTERVIEW WITH GABRIELLE TOZER

Hey Guys!
Today I bring you a special author interview with the amazing Gabrielle Tozer! Her book is out today which is called Remind Me How This Ends and you can pick it up at any place that sells good books (links to buy at the bottom of the interview). I hope you enjoy Gab’s answers as much as I did!

SERIOUS QUESTIONS:

What inspired you to write Remind Me How This Ends?
So many things: feeling lost and stuck in limbo, the blurry line between friendship and something more (and how we don’t always say what we feel to the people we care for most), the ongoing nature of grief (especially when you didn’t get a chance to say goodbye), and life in rural and regional Australia.

Did you use any of yourself or anyone you know as an inspiration for any of the characters in Remind Me How This Ends?
Absolutely. Like all my characters, Milo and Layla are a part of me – just like Josie Browning was in The Intern and Faking It. It was a tough book to write because it was tapping into weird, wobbly feelings for people I probably shouldn’t have had weird, wobbly feelings for – nothing like a bit of unrequited love to kick-start the creativity, right? Milo wasn’t based on one particular guy that got away – but his interactions with Layla are absolutely grounded in real emotions that I’ve felt before. That’s why it was such a tough book to write… it brought all of those emotions flooding back to the surface!
Have you got something new and exciting coming out after Remind Me How This Ends? Any hints on it if yes?
I sure do! I have a 10,000-word contemporary YA short story called ‘The Feeling From Over Here’ in HarperCollins’ Begin, End, Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology. The premise? Two teens reunite on an overnight coach from Canberra to Melbourne and are forced to deal with a painful incident from their past.
My first picture book, Peas and Quiet, is out this year too! It follows two peas, Pip and Pop, who live in a teeny-tiny peapod in the vegie patch behind the garden gnome and they just can’t get along. It’s wacky, outrageous and pretty damn sweet – I can’t wait to share it! Sue deGennaro’s illustrations are simply stunning. I’m also tinkering with a middle-grade novel and am brainstorming a new YA contemporary so watch this space…

Love Oz YA.jpg  Peas and Quiet.jpg

 

 

What’s the main message you want readers to get from Remind Me How This Ends?
That it’s alright if you haven’t got everything figured out yet. Just keep going. You’re doing your best.

Who is a writer that inspires you most to be the amazing author you are?
Authors like John Marsden, Melina Marchetta, Morris Gleitzman, Paul Jennings and Margaret Clarke inspired me to read books, which then inspired me to write books. Their books are a mixture of warm, quirky, dramatic and full of heart, and they make me laugh and cry and scared and feel things (so many things).

What tips do you have for aspiring authors?
Break down the writing process into manageable and specific steps so it’s not too overwhelming. So, tell yourself, “I am going to write this specific scene today” or “I’m going to play around with some ideas for half an hour” rather than, “OH MY GOD, I NEED TO WRITE MY BOOK TODAY”. (Can you tell I’ve learnt things the hard way?) Also, don’t get carried away with fantasies of book signings and world tours and J.K Rowling fame – focus on your writing and aim to tell the best story you can. The rest of it is beyond your control for now. Last but not least – and this is very important – once your first draft is finished, put it aside for a few months. When you come back to it, bring a red pen and edit it like you’re editing your worst enemy’s manuscript. Writing is rewriting, so the first draft is just that: a first draft. It took me multiple rewrites, self-editing and professional editing sessions to nail downRemind Me How This Ends.

FUN QUESTION ROUND:

Guy crush?
Jake Gyllenhaal, Ryan Gosling, Riz Ahmed, Jon Hamm, Ryan Reynolds and… I could keep going but I refuse to answer anymore on the grounds that I may incriminate myself.

Fave book?
This question is too hard! (I tried to narrow it down but felt guilty about leaving so many other favourites off the list.) I’ll say this, even though it’s technically cheating: I adore the original Harry Potter series and always will.

A place you REALLY wanna visit?
All the places. The Amalfi Coast in Italy. The Maldives. Mexico. The Whitsundays. Vietnam. But right now, I REALLY want to visit my family and friends in Wagga, Melbourne, Canberra, Brisbane, Newcastle and New York. We’re too spread out and I don’t get to see them enough. (Oops, I’m cheating again. Sorry)

Last book you read?
I just finished re-reading Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach and I am halfway through Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Catherine Deveny’s Use Your Words. My TBR pile is about to topple off my bedside table, but I can’t wait to crack into Nicole Hayes’ A Shadow’s Breath and Angie Thomas’The Hate U Give. (Still cheating. Still sorry.)

If you could be an animal, which one would you be?
Being someone’s spoiled pet Labrador would be pretty nice – those gorgeous pooches seem happy all the time! Why wouldn’t you be? You get lots of pats, naps, treats, trips to the park and playtime with other dogs. Sign me up.

MOST IMPORTANT QUESTION:
PINEAPPLE ON PIZZA: YES OR NO??
Hawaiian pizza is my favourite so… YES, A THOUSAND TIMES YES.

FIND GAB HERE:
Author | Freelance editor, journalist + copywriter

THE INTERN and FAKING IT are out now via HarperCollins
REMIND ME HOW THIS ENDS and PEAS AND QUIET out 2017
gabrielletozer.com
Instagram and Twitter: @gabrielletozer @gabrielletozer
Facebook and Tumblr: hellogabrielletozer hellogabrielletozer

BUY REMIND ME HOW THIS ENDS:
http://www.booktopia.com.au/remind-me-how-this-ends-gabrielle-tozer/prod9781460751688.html (AUS)
https://www.bookdepository.com/Remind-Me-How-This-Ends-Gabrielle-Tozer/9781460751688 (INTERNATIONAL)

READ MY REVIEW HERE:
https://molliethereader.wordpress.com/2017/01/13/remind-me-how-this-ends-book-review/

8O4A0148 as Smart Object-1.jpg  Remind Me How This Ends.jpg

Leave a Reply

