ALWAYS AND FOREVER: SHOULD HAVE BEEN A DUOLOGY

DISCLAIMER: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR FOREVER AND ALWAYS LARA JEAN, THESE OPINIONS ARE MY OWN AND IF YOU STILL LIKED THIS BOOK THEN I’M HAPPY FOR YOU, BUT UNFORTUNATELY I DID NOT AND THESE ARE JUST MY OWN THOUGHTS AND FEELINGS I JUST HAVE TO LET THEM OUT SORRY

OKAY SO,

I just finished Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han yesterday and have some very strong feelings about this book, I will just say before I get into my thoughts that I do love book one and two and still do prior to reading book three, so I’m not saying I hate the whole series, just had some problems with book three.

Okay so to begin, I always found Lara Jean to be very indecisive in the first two books but it just hit another level of it in this book. Yes I know we are all a little lost after high school, but I found a major case of Lara Jean making her decisions around Peter ALL THE TIME. Like she knew exactly what she wanted to do in collage and the place she went to I feel was all dependant on where Peter would go which really really annoyed me because she was major holding herself back just because she didn’t want to be apart from Peter.

Another problem found was that the book was heaps shorter than I thought it would be, it was very noticeably shorter than the first two which kinda scared me and after reading I did find that I wanted a few more details on more things such as more of Lara Jean’s father’s wedding, I feel as though Lara Jean spent most of this book planning out this wedding only for us to get a page and bit worth of the whole thing. I also wanted to see more of graduation because it also felt a little rushed and I feel like it was more touched on than it was explained in detail and especially since it was meant to be this big moment for Peter because his father didn’t turn up, I feel as though it was again just brushed upon and then the story moved on.

I also felt that we could have got a better ending for John, since the whole second book was about Lara Jean choosing between him and Peter, he didn’t even really make an entrance into the book until the 200 page mark and even when he was it wasn’t as big of a reunion as I imagined, I kind of felt that his story had so much more to it and I personally would liked to have heard more about how he was doing and I expected Lara Jean to want to know more but again I felt as though she was in her Peter bubble and every other guy to her doesn’t really matter – even if they are just friends. And if Stormy had not passed, would John have even come back into the story?

And the last thing I didn’t like was that the ending of the book felt exactly the same as book two which made me think that book three really wasn’t needed? At least for me it wasn’t, I was content with the ending of P.S I Still Love You and kinda wished that I just left it at that. As they all say, once the characters of a book or tv show get to the collage stage they all seem to get that little bit boring and I guess thats just what this was for me?

Anyway, to keep this not all negative I will mention that I did like the extra Peter and Lara Jean scenes that we did get in this book and I guess we really got to see them develop from the new relationship they started in book two to now a year later. I also liked seeing Peter and Kitty scenes because they never fail to make me smile like come on? And of course who can say no to another pretty cover to add to their shelves ESPECIALLY the gorgeous hardback edition with the pretty purple underneath?

ANYWAYYYY HOPE I DIDN’T ANGER YALL TOO MUCH, I GAVE THIS BOOK 3 STARS, COMMENT DOWN BELOW YOUR THOUGHTS IF YOU HAVE READ THIS BOOK OR EVEN THE FIRST TWO BOOKS IM INTERESTED IN YOUR THOUGHTS!!

One thought on “ALWAYS AND FOREVER: SHOULD HAVE BEEN A DUOLOGY

  1. Pingback: MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG |

Leave a Reply

