THE BUILD UP SEASON REVIEW!

THE BUILD UP SEASON BY MEGAN JACOBSON REVIEW:

TRIGGER WARNING: If you are sensitive to the topic of Domestic Violence be aware that this book goes into very graphic details on the topic, if this is something you struggle to read about, please tread carefully 

SYNOPSIS:

Seventeen-year-old Iliad Piper – Ily for short – is named after war and angry at the world. Growing up with a violent father and abused mother, she doesn’t know how to do relationships, family or friends. Her love-hate friendship with Max turns into a prank war and she nearly destroys her first true friendship with misfit Mia. She takes off her armour for nobody, until she meets Jared, a local actor and someone who’s as complicated as she is.

From the author of Yellow comes a powerful exploration of family and identity set against the humid build-up to the wet season in Darwin.

MY THOUGHTS:

This book was a rollar coaster of emotions. I was very excited to read Meg’s new book as she is a complete sweetie and I loved her book Yellow and as soon as I saw she had a new book I just knew it was destined to be read as soon as I could get my hands on it.

Iliad Piper was a very fierce, stubborn and tough protagonist and she was also very quirky and not your average YA novel protagonist, for me Ily was for sure one of the best parts of the novel. Ily goes through a lot of self discovery throughout the novel, starting out as a vulnerable child who has been a target of domestic violence, Iliad soon goes through so much heartbreak throughout the novel. I also really liked Max, he is super into filming and photography which is something that I myself am really into and I found myself really interested because of our similar hobbies. Max also represented the Indigenous Australian which I love that Meg added because it isn’t evident in Oz YA as much as I would like it to be. To me this story was a very character based story and I loved to pieces watching Iliad grow as a person.

The writing style as usual Meg style was addicting and being in Iliad’s head was just as awesome as reading about Kiera in her debut novel Yellow, however I for sure loved The Build Up Season a fair bit more than I liked Yellow which is a huge thing for me because I also adore Yellow to pieces.

Overall, The Build Up Season was heartbreaking, addicting and filled with a large range of unique characters that all went through a journey of self discovery. Iliad was also a very inspiring character to read about and I truly loved watching her grow from a scared child to a grown up fearless woman. While reading this I couldn’t help compare this to one of my all time fave books ever, Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow as the main character in that Charlie also goes on a huge self discovery journey much like Iliad does.

STAR RATING: ALL THE STARS IN THE UNIVERSE / 5 STARS

PRE ORDER HERE: http://www.booktopia.com.au/build-up-season-the-megan-jacobson/prod9780143573388.html

MEG.jpg

2 thoughts on “THE BUILD UP SEASON REVIEW!

  1. Pingback: AUTHOR CHAT WITH MEGAN JACOBSON! |

Leave a Reply

