ALL THE THINGS I DIDN’T SAY REVIEW

ALL THE THINGS I DIDN’T SAY BY KYLIE FORNASIER REVIEW

SYNOPSIS:

I hate the label Selective Mutism – as if I choose not to speak, like a child who refuses to eat broccoli. I’ve used up every dandelion wish since I was ten wishing for the power to speak whenever I want to. I’m starting to wonder if there are enough dandelions.

After losing her best friend that night, Piper Rhodes changes schools, determined that her final year will be different. She will be different. Then she meets West: school captain, star soccer player, the boy everyone talks about. Despite her fear of losing everything all over again, Piper falls in love – and West with her – without Piper ever speaking one word to him. But will it last?

MY THOUGHTS:

This book was extraordinary. The fact that Kylie has never had Selective Mutism and can write such a powerful and inspiring read just really shows how well of a writer Kylie is.

The main character Piper I really found that I connected with as selective mutism is very much like severe social anxiety which I suffered with pretty badly as a child so I really felt and connected with the way that Piper felt and I think that characters like Piper are very rare to find in books.

This book had me really hooked all the way through, Kylie created a very powerful and deep book that is very rarely explored in books especially in the genre of YA. I think that this book could be a big influence to those that suffer from Selective Mutism or people that have never heard about it to learn a sense of what it is like to have Selective Mutism.

Overall, I absolutely adored this book, I found it so empowering, unique and inspiring that as soon as I finished it I just wanted to read and learn more about Selective Mutism. I suggest that every YA reader reads this book.

STAR RATING: 4.75 OUT OF 5 STARS

BUY HERE: https://www.bookdepository.com/The-Things-I-Didn-t-Say/9780143573630

Leave a comment